Skip to main content
Abdelrazak Gurnah
(c) Mark Pringle
Abdulrazak Gurnah

Abdulrazak Gurnah, born in Zanzibar in 1948, lives in Great Britain as an author, literary critic and professor emeritus of English and Postcolonial Literature. Besides having been editor of the “African Writers Series”, Gurnah has penned ten multi-award-winning novels, has twice been shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize, was a Man Booker Prize judge in 2016 and was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 2021.

His latest novel, Afterlives, was published in 2020.

Further Information